

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 22, 2023 For More Information, Please Contact: Sarah Ravenhall, MHA, CHES, Executive Director, NYSACHO 518-527-3547

## NYSACHO MEMBERS ELECT 2023-2024 BOARD OF DIRECTORS, EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND PRESIDENT

## DR. IRINA GELMAN, COMMISSIONER, NASSAU COUNTY, ELECTED PRESIDENT AND FIVE NEW MEMBERS ELECTED TO BOARD

(Albany, New York) The New York State Association of County Health Officials (NYSACHO) today announced the results of its 2023 election for Board of Directors. NYSACHO represents all 58 local health commissioners and public health directors, serving as the voice for all of New York State's local health departments.

## IRINA GELMAN, DPM, MPH, ELECTED NYSACHO PRESIDENT

Dr. Gelman was appointed as the Nassau County Commissioner in 2022 and has 22 years of experience in public health. With her preliminary medical background in surgery and clinical care, Dr. Gelman, a Pace University and NYCPM graduate, grew up in Brooklyn, NY and went on to complete her residency training at Coney Island Hospital. Dr. Gelman obtained a master's degree in public health at the Nova Southeastern University College of Osteopathic Medicine and earned the HANYS Academy for Healthcare Leadership certification from Cornell University. During her nearly five years as Public Health Director in Fulton County she pioneered countywide telehealth applications for public health focused on improving access to care while impacting rural population health. These efforts earned her the American Public Health Association Milton and Ruth Roemer Prize in 2018. Dr. Gelman was appointed and confirmed as the tenth Commissioner of Health for Orange County, New York in 2018 where she lead the county through the measles outbreak, the COVID-19 pandemic response and developed a county-wide communicable disease wastewater surveillance early detection and early notification system for SARS CoV-2 and polio.

Sarah Ravenhall, NYSACHO Executive Director, said: "Our association welcomes the opportunity to be led by a dedicated, nationally recognized and exceptionally qualified leader in Dr. Gelman. During a time of great change and challenge for public health, I am honored to work with Dr. Gelman, our diverse board of directors and our Executive Committee. Together, we will serve as a trusted voice communicating to New York State's elected leaders the imperative of funding public health programs and passing public health policies that improve the health of our communities."

President Dr. Irina Gelman said: "It's an honor to be elected to lead such an esteemed and knowledgeable group of public health leaders during such a critical time for our profession. The pandemic and other pressures have had a profound impact on our ranks. Over the past three years we have seen turnover of nearly 50% in local health department leadership. Therefore,

maintaining stable leadership within our association has never been more critical. I look forward to working collaboratively with my counterparts across the state and supporting them in their mission to protect our communities."

Dr. Gelman's leadership team is joined by Linda Beers, MPH Public Health Director for Essex County, who was elected as Vice-President/President-Elect and Paul Pettit, MSL, CPH who having previously served as president, is stepping in as Immediate Past President. Dr. Gelman joined the NYSACHO Board in 2016 and brings her expertise in telehealth, as well as her clinical expertise, to the NYSACHO Executive Committee. Dr. Gelman also served as the cochair of NYSACHO's emerging issues committee, addressing such issues as opioid use, cannabis regulation and emergency preparedness.

In addition to the appointments referenced above, five new members were elected to join the Board. The new members include:

- Sara Boerenko, LCSW Montgomery County
- Peter Buzzetti III, MPH Chemung County
- Kathleen Cuddy, MPH Cayuga County
- Gregson Pigott, MD, MPH Suffolk County
- Tyler Shaw, MHA Allegany County

Returning to continue their Board Director terms include:

- Heidi Bond, BSN, CPH Otsego County
- Diane Devlin, MS, BSN, RN Wayne County
- Michael Mendoza, MD, MPH, MS, FAAFP, Monroe County
- Wei Xia New York City

"We are grateful to these new members and all of the members of our Board of Directors for their voluntary service to NYSACHO," Ravenhall said. "I am also deeply indebted to Dr. Carol Smith, Commissioner in Ulster County who is departing the board after reaching a 9-year term limit, demonstrating her passion for bettering public health and policy across the state. The expertise and experience of these new Board members will be critical to our efforts to advocate for effective and properly resourced state policies that are necessary to sustain the critical services provided by local health departments."

The 2023-24 Board of Directors began their terms effective June 1, 2023. To view a listing of NYSACHO Directors and for more information, please visit: <a href="https://www.nysacho.org/about-us/board-of-directors/">https://www.nysacho.org/about-us/board-of-directors/</a>.